The Official Site of theGolden Coast Conference

Golden Coast Conference News
Women's Water Polo - Tue, May 2, 2017

NCAA Bracket NCAA Selection Show 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Women's Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be vying for the 2017 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship. Pacific has earned the No. 7 seed and will host Pomona-Pitzer on Saturday, Nov. 6 in the opening round. 

The Tigers (20-8) will host the Sagehens (17-18) in one of two opening round games. The other opening round game on Saturday features University of California-San Diego (19-14) hosting Wagner College (25-10). 

The winners will advance to the championship, which will be held on Friday-Sunday, May 12-14, at the IU Natatorium on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in Indianapolis. Indiana University and the Indiana Sports Corp will serve as hosts. The 2017 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (seven games).

The UCSD/Wagner winner will play top-seeded the University of California-Los Angeles (22-1) at Noon in Game 1. In the other opening-round game, the Pacific/Pomona winner will play No. 2 Stanford University (20-3) at 3:30 p.m. in Game 3.

Rounding out the bracket will be No. 4 University of California-Irvine (23-6) facing the University of California (15-9) in Game 2 at 1:45 p.m. and No. 3 University of Southern California (28-3) competing against the University of Michigan (28-8) at 5:15 p.m. in Game 4.

The victors of action on Friday, May 12, advance to the semifinals as the winners of the UCLA-vs.-Wagner/UC-San Diego and California-vs.-UC-Irvine games clash at 3:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 13, prior to the victors of the Stanford-vs.-Pacific/Pomona-Pitzer and USC-vs.-Michigan games battling at 5:00 p.m.

The 2017 National Championship game will occur at 3:00 p.m. on Sunday, May 14.

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC-Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Michigan), Golden Coast Conference (Pacific), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (UCLA), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC-San Diego). The remaining three teams were selected at large without geographical restrictions.

For fans unable to make the trip to Indianapolis, the NCAA will stream all the games at the final site on May 12-14 live on