The Official Site of theGolden Coast Conference

Golden Coast Conference News
The fourth annual GCC Women’s Championships begins on Friday as San Diego State grabs No. 1 seed.
The fourth annual GCC Women’s Championships begins on Friday as San Diego State grabs No. 1 seed.
Women's Water Polo - Sun, Apr. 23, 2017

2017 GCC Championship Central
2017 GCC Championship Bracket

LOS ANGELES - The 2017 regular season is in the books for the Golden Coast Conference and with it, so to are the seedings for the upcoming 2017 GCC Women's Championships set to begin on Friday, April 28, 2017 at Santa Clara's Sullivan Aquatic Center.

The fourth annual women's championships will see San Diego State as the No. 1 seed for the fourth year in a row. The Aztecs once again went perfect in conference play at 7-0 and enter the GCC Championships at 17-13 overall. With the No. 1 seed, they will earn a bye into the semifinals.

The Seedings:
1. San Diego State (17-13, 7-0)
2. Pacific (17-8, 6-1)
3. LMU (13-14, 5-2)
4. Azusa Pacific (13-13, 3-4)
5. Santa Clara (8-19, 3-4)
6. California Baptist (17-12, 3-4)
7. Fresno Pacific (14-14, 1-6)

The University of the Pacific wrapped up GCC play at 6-1 and earned the No. 2 seed. They are 17-8 overall on the season and will face No. 7 seed Fresno Pacific in the first round of play on Friday at 12 noon. The Sunbirds finished the season at 14-14 overall and 1-6 in the GCC.

LMU claimed the No. 3 seed at 5-2 in GCC play and are 13-14 overall on the season. 

There was a three-way tie for fourth in the GCC this season with Azusa Pacific, California Baptist and Santa Clara all finishing conference play at 3-4. All three teams beat each other and all three lost to the top three teams in the standings. After head-to-head and results against higher seeds, the next tie-breaker is goal deferential in the games against those tied in the standings. All three had an identical mark, thus goals scored in those games is the next tie-breaker.

Thus, Azusa Pacific earned the No. 4 seed in the tournament thanks to 20 goals scored in the two games against SCU and CBU. With them removed, the tie between Santa Clara and California Baptist went to head-to-head and Santa Clara earned the No. 5 seed thanks to their one-goal win over the Lancers. CBU earns the No. 6 seed.

The Lancers, who finished 17-12 in the regular season, will face LMU in the first game of the day on Friday at 10:30 am. Azusa Pacific (13-13) will take on Santa Clara (8-19) in the final game of the day on Friday at 1:30 pm.

The semifinals of the GCC Championships will be played on Saturday. The LMU-CBU and Pacific-FPU winners will play in the first semifinal at 12 noon while the winner of Santa Clara-Azusa Pacific will play San Diego State in the second semifinal at 1:30 pm.

The championship game will be play in Sunday, April 30 at 1:30 pm with the winner earning the automatic bid to the 2017 NCAA Championships. Follow all the action from